Saturday, 28 August 2010

The Vigilante's Bride by Yvonne Harris


Robbing a stagecoach on Christmas Eve and kidnapping a woman passenger is the last thing Luke Sullivan expects to do. He just wanted to reclaim the money stolen from him, but ends up with a feisty copper-haired orphan thrown over his shoulder who was on her way to marry Sullivan's bitter enemy.

Emily McCarthy is an orphan out of options. Forced to marry because she was too old for her orphanage, she doesn't take kindly to her "rescue." Still she trusts God can turn any situation to good especially when it seems Sullivan may just be the man of her dreams. But Sullivan's crossed a dangerous man unused to losing and Emily may just be the prize he's unwilling to sacrifice.

My take:~

Yvonne Harris' debut novel is a surprising treat! While treading old ground with the plot of a young woman travelling to marry an older man when she is kidnapped by a vigilante bent on revenge, in the adept hands of Yvonne, it becomes an enthralling tale of adventure, courage, conviction and attraction. Sparks fly in more ways than one when Emily is snatched at gunpoint and whisked away by a man she is terrified of. But Emily is no wallflower so the battle lines are marked from the start as Luke tries to convince her of the folly of marrying, while wondering why his own thoughts start wandering down the aisle for the first time. With arresting characters, dramatic tension and palpable attraction, Yvonne's future books will be sure to be on my wishlist. Fans of Tamera Alexander and Colleen Coble's historicals will enjoy discovering The Vigilante's Bride.

With thanks to Bethany House for my review copy

Relz Reviewz Extras

Visit Yvonne's website

Buy Yvonne's book at Amazon and Koorong


Sheree said...

i always love a good story about a cowboy!!! :-) can't wait to read this one...sounds like it will be a good one! thanks for the review.

Rebecca Herman said...

I won this book from LibraryThing but hadn't gotten to read it yet. Glad to know it's good.

Jenny said...

I'm looking forward to this one...and I love the silhouette of the cowboy on the cover. :)

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...