Wednesday, 21 March 2012

Dreamspell by Tamara Leigh

Synopsis:~

A time to live. A time to die. A time to dream.

Sleep disorders specialist Kennedy Plain has been diagnosed with a fatal brain tumor. When her research subject dies after trying to convince her he has achieved dream-induced time travel and her study is shelved, she enlists herself as a subject to complete her research. But when she dreams herself into 14th-century England and falls into the hands of Fulke Wynland, a man history has condemned as a murderer, she must not only stay alive long enough to find a way to return to her own time, but prevent Fulke from murdering his young nephews. And yet, the more time she spends with the medieval warrior, the more difficult it is to believe he is capable of committing the heinous crime for which he has been reviled for 600 years.

Baron Fulke Wynland has been granted guardianship of his brother’s heirs despite suspicions that he seeks to steal their inheritance. When the king sends a mysterious woman to care for the boys, Fulke is surprised by the lady's hostility toward him--and more surprised to learn she is to be his wife. But when his nephews are abducted, the two must overcome their mutual dislike to discover the boys' fate. What Fulke never expects is to feel for this woman whose peculiar speech, behavior, and talk of dream travel could see her burned as a witch. 

My take:~

Adored for her contemporary chick lit flavoured inspirational fiction, Tamara Leigh proves she is equally at home in the 14th century with her self published time travel romance, Dreamspell.  Tamara commenced her writing career penning medieval romance novels for the general market and her talent for historical romance is on display in this substantial and engaging story.  Fulke captures the imagination from the get go as he faces the hangman's noose for a heinous crime, a medieval warrior with a captive heart.  Kennedy is an intriguing woman, facing death of another kind, daring to dream of a life beyond her consciousness.  While cheating death in one world by travelling to another, Kennedy faces danger of an equally unrelenting nature as rumours she is a witch take flight.  Dreamspell is a novel of deep passion while remaining a clean read but unlike Tamara's contemporary novels, you will not find an overtly spiritual message.  Tamara's considerable gifts for character development, historical detail and palpable attraction with garner her devoted readers in this genre.  Fulke and Kennedy engaged me completely as they battled fear, attraction, betrayal and heartache and their journey will appeal to fans of Lisa Bergren's River of Time series and Linda Windsor's medieval romances.  Like Siri Mitchell, Tamara shows she can make the transition from romantic comedies to historical romance with ease and I am confidant Dreamspell will be the first of many successful historical novels from this gifted writer.

With thanks to the author for my review copy

Relz Reviewz Extras
Buy Dreamspell for your e-reader or PC for the introductory price of $2.99
Review of Restless in Carolina and Character spotlight on Bridget & J.C.
Review of Leaving Carolina and Character spotlight on Piper & Axel
Review of Nowhere, Carolina and Character spotlight on Maggie & Reece
Interview with Tamara
Visit Tamara's new look website (she has great recipes, too!)
Buy Tamara's books at Amazon or Koorong


3 comments:

Christy said...

As I was reading the synopsis, I couldn't help but think of Lisa's ROT books. Lovely review, Rel!

Casey said...

Great review! I've loved Tamera's contemp books, and this one sounds like a great read!

Serena Chase said...

Great comparisons! R.O.T. and Windsor fans will most certainly love it! And that cover! Wow! It had me at "hello". ;)
~Serena

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...